Function Hub

The Function hub consists of four thrust areas: Advanced Materials; Microelectronics; Sustainable Energy and Environment; and Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences. All four thrust areas are experimentally based and thus demand a large number of research students. A total of 14 faculty members (6 from HKUST CWB campus plus 8 new recruits) will join the hub in 2020 and we would like to request 4 PhDs and 2 MPhils per joining faculty member in 2020. All new students are expected to spend their first year at the Clear Water Bay campus to complete their course requirements (some of them may complete the courses in Nanshan by using Video/Remote teaching). 42 new research students will move to the Nansha campus in year 2 to continue their research study.


Thrust Area