Program Types

HKUST offers both research and taught postgraduate programs in a wide range of disciplines, leading to doctoral and master's degrees, and graduate diplomas.

Research Postgraduate Programs (RPgs)

RPgs involve the completion of coursework and independent research, and successful defense of thesis.
The normative periods of study are as follows:

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

  • 4 years with a first degree only
  • 3 years if a relevant research master’s degree was earned prior to entering the PhD program

Master of Philosophy (MPhil)

  • 2 years

Taught Postgraduate Programs (TPgs)

TPgs require students to fulfill the coursework requirements and projects if any.
The normative periods of study are as follows:

Master of Science (MSc), Master of Arts (MA) or Master of Public Policy (MPP)

  • Full-time: 1 to 2 years as specified by individual programs
  • Part-time: 1.5 to 3 years as specified by individual programs

Master of Business Administration (MBA)

  • Full-time: 1 to 1.5 years
  • Part-time: 2 years

Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA)

  • Part-time: 16 months

Postgraduate Diploma (PGD)

  • Full-time: 1 year
  • Part-time: 1 to 1.5 years
Click to explore the areas of study at HKUST:
We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our website. By continuing without changing your cookie settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy policy for more information.